community.pirate.com

New guitar player in need of advice and help!

Hey guys!! I’m new to community…been lingering for a while but thought I’d be brave and make my first post! I’ve seen a lot of DJ and production stuff but not so much band related posts…so I’m hoping there will be a few people to answer my question!! I’ve recently got a guitar (electric). It’s always been my dream to learn and I’ve put it off for too many years, and I thought no better time then lockdown! I’ve got the basic chords down, but I feel very overwhelmed with how to teach myself!

So my question is, for those who play guitar, what is the best way to go about learning!?!? Is it worth me getting a teacher? (I’m guessing in lockdown it will have to be over zoom lol ??) but is that worth the money? there are loads of tutorials online, and there’s apps, but I’m such a rookie I don’t even know where to begin!!! should I master all the chords? Start learning finger picking? Learn to read music? Barre chords? HELP!!!

Thank you xxxxx

3 Likes

Hey,

First things first, massive props for taking that first step and grabbing an electric. Really excited for you and your journey!

There are so many of different styles, techniques out there, it depends on what genres/styles of music you want to use the guitar for? If you can establish that first then it can help you to know where to start. I personally started with basic chords (as you have done) and learnt to play with a pick and developed my strumming techniques (again, there’s so many dependent on style of music lol…e.g Folk compared to metal). Then I eventually developed onto more lead guitar stuff and it was only recently in the last 2 years I started delving into finger picking techniques. I kind of wished I’d learnt finger picking a bit earlier but at the same time, it didn’t feel like it would be too difficult without practice as I could pick really well with a plectrum.