community.pirate.com

Mixing Tips from A Pirate Site Tech in Dublin

I’ve been recording and mixing for over 20 years, some successes but also a lot of failures! Don’t let the failures put you off that’s where you learn something…and I’m always up for learning something new when it comes to the craft of recording and mixing.

I’m going to post some mixing tips and tricks, advice and recommendations here from things I’ve picked up along my journey as a sound engineer.

Please feel free to chime in with things you find useful, techniques you’re interested in exploring more or killer cheats to getting a better sound you’ve discovered!

The good side and the bad side of Producing and Recording is that you’ll never master it all…but you’ll have a whole lot of fun trying!

3 Likes

Mixing Tip 1 – Get Organised!

Before you touch a fader, before you listen to the track

Organise!

Organise!

Organise!

Setting up your project correctly to start with may save you a lot of headaches in the long run so if you haven’t started already, start now or if you have inherited a project from someone else to mix get it all neat and tidy and ordered before commencing your mix

To begin make sure all the tracks are labelled correctly…there’s nothing worse than trying to find an instrument when all the tracks are named something like Audio-01, Audio_29, Audio_TK2_37.

Solo each track and name correctly. i.e. kick, snare top, snare bottom, Left Overhead, Rhythm Guitar 1, Rhythm Guitar 2, Bass Amp Mic, Lead Vocals, Pad Synth 1 etc you get then gist.

Once you’ve done this try organising your tracks so they sit together for example here’s how I might lay out a project window

Kick

Snare top

Snare Bottom

Rack 1

Rack 2

Floor Tom

Left Overhead

Right Overhead

Drum room mic Left

Drum Room Mic Right

Bass Amp Mic

Bass Amp D.I.

Rhythm Guitar 1

Rhythm Guitar 2

Lead Guitar

Piano

Synth Pad

Moog Lead

Lead Vocals Verse

Lead Vocals Chorus

Backing Vocal 1

Backing vocal 2